Chicken, Bacon, Rice (Cauliflower).

Since I started Crossfit last week I decided that I would start eating better as well. I think I do better with total changes than a little bit here and a little there. So I started my search across the web for Paleo, Zone, Primal style recipes. My wife and I did a 30 day Paleo challenge not long after we got married. After 20 something days of strict Paleo we broke down unable to take it any longer and devoured a large pepperoni pizza and a 2 liter Coke. This time around I am working to be very strict Monday through Friday and eat what I want on the weekends (attempting to curb my portions to the smaller side though).

The search for recipes lead me to find the website PaleOMG and their Chicken Bacon Rice Bowls.

I’m going back to work at the fire station tomorrow and to combat the urge to eat out, which is what my crew and I have been doing the last 6 month, I decided to make the Chicken Bacon Rice Bowls that I had seen online to take with me. By taking my meals it makes sure that I can stick to the no bread semi Paleo thing, that I’ve decided to do and have something delicious.

It probably took me about an hour to make, I added extra bacon which to time to cook. The ninja sped up my rice making. Overall not too bad of a dish to make. Here are some picture the action.

I browned the rice in my cast iron skillet with a little grease from the bacon, salt, and pepper.
I browned the rice in my cast iron skillet with a little grease from the bacon, salt, and pepper.
Who doesn't like bacon? More is better right?
Who doesn’t like bacon? More is better right?
Close to the finished product, after some simmering it was less runny
Close to the finished product, after some simmering it was less runny

Anyone needing a one bowl dish should definitely try this.

Leave a Reply

